October is Adopt a Shelter Dog Month

Today we’ll be taking a break from my real estate related ramblings to talk about something near & dear to my heart.  And I’ll be lucky if I make it through this post without crying.  Here goes …

This beautiful puppy is Jester.

Jester

He is an Australian Cattle Dog/Shepherd mix.  We adopted him when he was 4 years old, and he spent his remaining 10 years being a loving & devoted member of our family.  He had a few quirks that we can only guess came from some kind of mistreatment with his previous owners, but they never kept him from always waiting at the door for us with a wagging tail to welcome us home.  We were so lucky to have found this amazing dog at a shelter.

October is Adopt a Shelter Dog Month.  If you’re considering adding a new member to your family of barking, 4-legged variety, please consider adopting one of the sweet & wonderful dogs that are anxiously waiting at a shelter for someone to take them to their forever home.

For the record, I cried the entire time I was writing this.  It’s been over a year and a half since we lost Jester, and we still miss him terribly.  We aren’t ready to love another one like that just yet, but when we do we’ll be heading right back to the shelter to find that next furry & fabulous member of our family.

Audrey is a REALTOR and Broker/Owner of Audrey Reed Realty with Step Up Realty in McKinney, TX.  Connect with her on Facebook or checkout her website.  This blog represents HER opinions and are not necessarily the opinions of her broker/brokerage … wait … she is the broker … and it’s her brokerage … never mind!  All information is deemed reliable but not guaranteed.
How’s that for a disclaimer???

 

3 thoughts on “October is Adopt a Shelter Dog Month

  1. Hi Audrey, Thanks for posting this. I had to post about my pup, Rids, this month as well. I got him from Best Friends Animal shelter 9 years ago. He’s nearly 13 and while it pains me that he’s slowing down, I think he was one of the best things to happen in my life. He has been my world travel companion, my family, and gives me someone to come home to every day. By far, the love he has shared has been more than I ever spent in money for his food, shelter, or treats.
    I know it still makes you cry – even a years later, but if you’re like me you wouldn’t change a thing. Sending you kind thoughts, many happy memories, and hoping that you will give another shelter pet a chance at a loving forever home…

  2. Audrey, I did not know you guys had a dog. I am glad you were able to spend such good times with Jester. We also have a Austrialian Cattle Dog/ Aus Shepherd/Kelpie Mix. Star is the daughter I never got to have, and I am glad she gets to travel with us around the world right now. We got Star at the Shelter the same day we adopted our 2 cats. I truly believe the best pets ever found are the ones that you find at a shelter. I hope someday you are able to add another wonderful dog to your family.

Leave a Reply

